Skip to main content


Terms of Reference

The Senate is responsible to the Council for academic governance and especially for regulating:

  • the admission of students
  • the­ curriculum
  • academic standards
  • the award of degrees and other qualifications

The Senate consists of 54 members including academic staff and student members. In addition to its responsibility for academic governance, the Senate has an advisory role extending across most aspects of our work.

Read the full statement of the role and responsibilities of the Senate

Membership 2023-24

Ex-officio members

  • The Vice-Chancellor and President and the Deputy Vice-Chancellors (4)
  • Pro-Vice-Chancellor (1)
  • The Executive Deans of the Faculties (7)
  • The heads of schools and institutes having the functions of schools (7 – 1 from each faculty):
    • AHC: Professor Hazel Hutchison (English)
    • FBS: Professor Richard Callaghan (Biomedical Sciences)
    • Environment: Professor Simon Kelley (Earth and Environment)
    • EPS: Professor Colin Fishwick (Chemistry)
    • LUBS: Professor Jonathan Winterton (Work and Employment)
    • FMH: To be confirmed (Medicine)
    • FSS: Professor Richard Beardsworth (POLIS);
  • The Faculty Pro-Deans for Learning and Teaching, Research and International (6 – two nominees from each group)
    • International: Professor Iain Clacher (LUBS); Dr Piruthivi Sukumar (FMH)
    • Research and Innovation: Professor Matthew Treherne (AHC); 1 to be confirmed
    • Student Education: Professor Cathy Myles (LUBS); Dr Amanda Harrison (FMH)
  • The Librarian (1)

Elected members

Total of 16 elected members, made up as follows:

a. 9 members elected by all members of faculties, at least three of the nine being members of the academic staff

  • Matthew Bate (SS)
  • Professor Jane Holgate (LUBS)
  • Dr Sarah Hudspith (AHC)
  • Professor Frans Muller (EPS)
  • Dan Pullinger (Library)
  • Sascha Stollhans (AHC)
  • Dr Aisha Walker (SS)
  • Professor Robert Williams (AHC)
  • Dr Sam Wilson (EPS)

b. 1 member of the academic staff elected by each faculty

  • Professor Fiona Douglas (AHC)
  • Professor Charlotte Haigh (FBS)
  • Professor Peter Jimack (EPS)
  • Dr Gary Slater (LUBS)
  • Dr Kerri Woods (FSS)
  • 2 vacancies

Co-opted members

Co-option of up to 5 members to be determined by the Vice-Chancellor for a 3-year term, reflecting strategic academic priorities for next 3 years and expertise:

  • Dean of EDI (Dr Kendi Guantai)
  • Dean of Leeds Doctoral College (Professor Luke Windsor)
  • Dean for Student Education (Professor Kenny McDowall)
  • Dean of Digital Transformation (Professor Arunangsu Chatterjee)
  • Dean of Research Culture (Professor Cat Davies)

Student members

6 members chosen in such manner as may be determined from time to time by the Leeds University Union but always to include the Education Officer, International and Postgraduate Officer, and Union Affairs and Communications Officer, and always to include at least one undergraduate student and one postgraduate student.

  • Education Officer: Shivani Gug
  • International and Postgraduate Officer: Felix Emotu
  • Union Affairs and Communications Officer: Lucy Hart
  • Equality & Liberation Officer: Amara Relf
  • Wellbeing Officer: Freshta Amiry
  • Activities & Opportunities Officer: Lydia Shale

Dates of meetings

Meetings take place on Wednesdays, and begin at 2:05pm.


  • 11 October 2023
  • 15 November 2023
  • 17 January 2024
  • 6 March 2024
  • 15 May 2024
  • 3 July 2024


  • 9 October 2024
  • 13 November 2024
  • 15 January 2025
  • 12 March 2025
  • 14 May 2025
  • 9 July 2025


Last updated: 9 July 2023 (HJP)